Crafting · Knitting

It’s So Fluffy

Remember the pompom maker I showed you last year? (Technically it was last week, but I can’t believe it’s 2016 already and have to take every chance to remind myself of the fact!)

Well, that thing is A. Maze. Ing!

A pompom in progress
A pompom in progress

You start by wrapping yarn round and round this ring…

… then you cut all around it and tie around the centre.

Looking great already
Looking great already

Here it is right out of the holder. My old method required a lot of trimming, so I think I made this first pompom a bit too big…

Might have to adjust the size...
Might have to adjust the size…

After trimming it down a bit I absolutely love it. It’s so fluffy I’m gonna die!

It's so squishy
It’s so squishy

Once I got the hang of it I couldn’t stop making them (in the appropriate sizes, of course).

Squee!!!!
Squee!!!!

Here are the last of the hats I made for 1000 Stitches for Syria.

A more subdued palette here
A more subdued palette here

In total I made 18 hats – I didn’t quite reach my target, but I’m still pleased with them.

2 thoughts on “It’s So Fluffy

    1. I love this pom pom maker – I want to make pom poms and fill pretty glass jars with them and string them up all over the house (only the thought of dust bunnies is preventing me), they’re just so much fun to make.

Leave a comment