Talk About Coffee Obsessed

Several months ago, deep in the depths of one of the worst Canadian winters in memory, I was listening to Ed Lawrence on CBC Radio’s Ontario Today . The topic that week was growing coffee plants at home – listening to Ed wax poetic about the heavenly smell, sweet fruit, and novelty of using your own coffee, I just knew I had to have oneΒ (by the way, if you want to hear it for yourself just head on over here).

Last week I finally made my way toΒ a local garden centre with an amazing selection of tropical plants and picked up two Coffee Arabica plants.

The two plants I planned on getting

The two plants I planned on getting

Except when I got home I realized I didn’t buy two plants. I bought two plant pots full of at least a dozen seedlings each. I carefully separated each into smaller clumps, thinned out the weakest of the bunch, and replanted them into smaller pots. All in all I got more than ten plants, plus the two I had originally wanted. Here they are a few days after replanting.

The beginnings of my own  coffee plantation

The beginnings of my own coffee plantation

I even got one to my coffee-addicted younger brother. Coffee plants are supposedly relatively low-maintenance, so let’s see if a university student can handle one.

If a young guy can handle this plant, anyone can

If a young guy can handle this plant, anyone can

The plants are still very young, so it will likely be quite some time (years, probably) before they do anything interesting. Β We’ll just have to wait and see.

One thought on “Talk About Coffee Obsessed

Leave a Reply

