Getting Out of a Reading Rut

From the newspaper first thing in the morning to the audiobooks during my commute, the ebook at lunch, and the paperbacks before bed – I’m not picky when it comes to format, I just love a good tale. Lately though I’ve fallen into a bit of a reading rut. I love mysteries, the cozier the better, and I can devour several of them a month. However, it was getting to the point that they were all I was reading, and I starting to get a little bored. I used to  read all kinds of books, in fact I’ve always considered myself a bit of a voluptuous reader (If you don’t know what I’m talking about a) why not?!? and b) you can find out here), so where to start? I decided to create a bit of a challenge for myself – I’m going to read all ten books on the Evergreen list. This is an annual list compiled by the Ontario Library Association and it encompasses a range of genres – both fiction and non-fiction. I figured that this would be  good way to get me reading outside my tried and true genres. And did it ever!

Cinnamon Toast and the End of the World

Cinnamon Toast and the End of the World

I’ve already read a few titles on the list and they were quite good, but they were very typical choices for me. This was not. Cinnamon Toast and the End of the World, by Janet E. Cameron, epitomizes my reasons for this challenge. Here’s a book that I probably wouldn’t have picked up on my own. Small town teenage boy in the 1980s? I could already hear the raucous house parties. True, they did feature heavily in the novel. A lot of times all I could think was ‘dumb teenagers’ as I shook my head at their recklessness. But Cameron’s writing is amazing, she perfectly captures a time and place. And that ending! My one gripe with this book is the blurb on the back over. “House parties, Pick-up trucks, Cherry-vanilla ice cream, Prom night, Unrequited Love.” Doesn’t that just sound like every other typical teen novel? This book was so much more.

Next on my list is The Massey Murder, by Charlotte Gray – I’m especially looking forward to this one. I went to the University of Toronto and frequented a few buildings named after various members of the Massey family, so it will be interesting to learn more about them.

The Massey Murder

The Massey Murder

3 thoughts on “Getting Out of a Reading Rut

Leave a Reply

