Reading Challenge Update

Well, I’ve finished Charlotte Gray’s The Massey Murder and I’m not too sure about it. It was nothing like I expected – which isn’t necessarily a bad thing. I was expecting detailed information about the case and the people involved. What I got instead was a snapshot of Toronto at an interesting point in history.

It turns out that there isn’t much official information about the case (aside from newspaper reports that Gray herself admits are biased), and even less about Carrie Davies herself. Certainly not enough for an entire book. Gray obviously did a lot of research for this book, and I think she does a decent job of bringing it all together, but some of it just felt forced. My overall impression of this book is meh (picture me doing this). I’d like to try some of Gray’s other work, something where there’s enough documentation to actually support the topic.

Anyways, that’s another book off my list. Just five more to go! I’ve already started Flee, Fly, Flown, by Janet Hepburn and I am loving it.

Leave a Reply

