Grey and Purple, Purple and Grey

Another project down. As you can see, I’ve finished spinning the alpaca. It was definitely a learning experience.

DSC_0011

The finished product – alpaca cabled with wool

 

Straight off the bobbin

Straight off the bobbin

The alpaca was really soft and easy to draft and spin. Maybe a little too easy to draft – I ended up close to laceweight in some sections, although overall I’d say it’s more like a light fingering. I’ll definitely try pure alpaca again in the future.

As beautiful as the grey was, it felt a little blah so I decided to jazz it up a bit. I dug deep in my stash and came up with a skein of Knit Picks Shadow in Vineyard and I decided to try cabling for the first time. Some sections of my finished yarn have too much twist and some don’e have enough, but I think it’ll still be usable. I’m pretty happy with this yarn, and I can check another WIP off my list.

The stashed laceweight I used

The stashed laceweight I used

Leave a Reply

