Aside

Another Book Down

Number seven on my Evergreen reading list is done. I finished Thomas King’s The Inconvenient Indian the other day. It really got me thinking about First Nations issues, things that aren’t usually at the forefront of my mind.

King’s writing is amazing – it’s like he’s speaking directly to you. There was one chapter in particular that I found a little tedious, there were just so many lists of names that I ended up skimming them. On the last page of the chapter he wrote something along the lines of “My wife says there are too many lists and that no one actually reads them. I know that but I just wanted to see their names in print and I wanted you to see them too.” Well, after that I made sure to read each and every name very carefully.

Now I’m onto Edeet Ravel’s The Cat. As a self-proclaimed crazy cat lady I’m already intrigued.

2 thoughts on “Another Book Down

  1. Keira says:

    Hi there! I just stumbled upon your blog while doing some web research on Thomas King. I am currently finishing up a thesis on King’s works and was hoping that I could include a reference to your comments here. I had a similar response to his use of lists until I read that same line. You summed it up beautifully!

Leave a Reply

