Gone Fishin’

 

You know how in those old TV shows sometimes there’s a sign on a storefront saying ‘Gone Fishing’ or something to that extent? I think we all need one of those days every once in a while – a day to just ignore what needs to be done and do what you want to. Last week I took one of those days for myself and headed over to Niagara-on-the-Lake.  I love that place, it’s close enough that I can easily drive there in one go, yet still far away enough to feel like I’m actually going on a trip.

The town itself is full of great little shops. My favourite this time around were Taste The 4th Sense, a gourmet shop devoted to condiments and hot-sauces. I also love stopping by Modern Bee for fabric and yarn. I’m on a self-imposed yarn diet at the moment so I only bought a single ball of sock yarn, Crazy Zauberball in Herbstwind. However, I did grab several fat quarters – the grey, floral, and fox print are slated for gifts, but that blue and white one is all mine.

 

 

 

DSC_0031

New fabric purchases

 

I also stopped in at a darling antique shop along the road. I could have spent hours in there. She really had some amazing finds – including a Singer Featherweight! I was sorely tempted by that, but realistically that isn’t exactly an impulse buy. I did manage to pick up a few vintage crafting books though, including this needlecraft book that covers everything from sewing to knitting to cross stitch and more.

DSC_0005

Two of my loves in one – old books and needlecraft

 

Then there’s this 1930s Stitchcraft magazine…

DSC_0016

1930’s Stitchcraft magazine

 

… full of amazing spreads like this.

DSC_0020

Check out this spread!

 

And finally, my personal favourite, The Complete Family Sewing Book from the 1970s

DSC_0006

Surprisingly useful information

 

Check out the groovy illustrations!

DSC_0014

Groovy!

2 thoughts on “Gone Fishin’

Leave a Reply

