Rolled Hems

I love my sewing machine. I use her almost weekly. But to be totally honest, I don’t use her to her full potential – she’s got lots of parts and functions that could probably help me take my craft to the next level, but I’ve never taken the time to learn about them. An excellent example would be this interesting looking foot here.

Rolled Hem Foot

Rolled Hem Foot

A rolled hem foot does exactly what it sounds like it does; it rolls the hem as it’s being stitched so you don’t have to fiddle with it. In theory it’s a great function, but it seems like this is one of those tools you either love or hate. I have a drawer full of cotton scraps that I’ve slowly been chipping away at, so I figured I’d try out the rolled hem foot and make myself some handkerchiefs. I played around with some scraps first and decided I liked the look of this decorative stitch. And how did I like using this foot? Well, when it comes to stitching straight lines this thing is amazing.

Straight Rolled Hem

Straight Rolled Hem

Corners were a bit trickier. I watched a couple videos about it, and I understand in theory how to make that 90ยบ turn, but I just couldn’t seem to put it into practice.

Rolled Hem - Sharp Corners

Rolled Hem – Sharp Corners

After that first disaster I decided to give up. Well, not totally, but I did take the easy way out. I curved the corners and, while still not perfect, they were much easier.

Rolled Hem - Curved Corners

Rolled Hem – Curved Corners

I ended up with five handkerchiefs. They aren’t what I was picturing, and I did consider picking out the stitches and trying again. But then I realized that they’re handkerchiefs – nothing more than glorified snot receptacles! They’ll serve their purpose and I got to finally try out the rolled hem foot.

A New Stack of Handkerchiefs

A New Stack of Handkerchiefs

I do like this foot, and I think it’s going to be great for hemming clothing, but corners (on napkins or scarves or the like) are going to take a lot more practice.

6 thoughts on “Rolled Hems

  1. Crooked Tracks says:

    Wow, I also have that foot for my sewing machine. I have never used it. I really like the way the rolled hem looks at the curved corner. It would be good for a baby blanket ๐Ÿ™‚

    • It’s so true! When I got my machine it came with a free ‘lesson’ – basically they show you the basics of the machine and then dangle all these fancy extras in front of you. There are some feet in my sewing box whose purpose completely eludes me all these years later ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

