Back of the Stacks

I had big plans for using up scraps and making a complicated pattern on the back of the quilt. But I decided against it because I’m a little obsessed with the focal fabric and wanted to showcase it.

The back of the quilt

The back of the quilt

I could spend hours gushing over this fabric. It’s designed by Jenni Calo for Connecting Threads and, as much as I love her designs in general, she really outdid herself with this one. It even has its own librarian on it!

I call her Beulah

I call her Beulah

The colours are so warm and inviting, and there are so many cute details.

I seriously love this fabric

I seriously love this fabric

There’s just one little itty bitty problem…

OCD Librarian alert!

OCD Librarian alert!

I know this totally doesn’t matter in the grand scheme of things, but let me just be my OCD librarian self for a minute here.

As you can see, this book on Sewing has a call number of 973.4 – a cute detail, right? Except 973.4 is the number for American History, specifically the Constitutional Period. A book on sewing should have a Dewey Decimal number of 646.2 or thereabouts. Realistically I don’t expect anyone to actually notice this (I mean, look how tiny that number is in the overall pattern), and I doubt anyone  other than the most diehard of library nerds would realize it’s off, but I just had to point it out. Okay, now that I’ve got that off my chest I feel much better.

4 thoughts on “Back of the Stacks

Leave a Reply

