Slow and Steady

I’ve gotten back to work on my Fall Seasons Shawl. Looking at my notes I realized there were less than 5o rows to go. No problem, I thought, I can finish this up in a few days.

Was I ever wrong!

My Fall Seasons Shawl

My Fall Seasons Shawl

All my knitting time for the past week or so has gone into this shawl. If you’re thinking it doesn’t look that different from the last time you saw it, you’re right. I placed a lifeline before getting started so I can see just how far I’ve come since I picked this thing back up, and it’s only about two inches.

The problem is that it’s about a million stitches across (well, not really, but it is well over 400) so each row takes a really long time. On a good evening I can finish three rows, but more often it’s only one or two. I actually timed myself and discovered each row takes longer than an entire hexipuff from start to finish.

My progress

My progress so far

It’s a little discouraging to pour all that time into something and not see significant results. I know it’s going to be worth it in the end – after all, slow and steady wins the race! – but right now it feels like a knitting black hole.

I think I’m going to cheat on my WIP list. There’s some yarn I spun up last spring that’s just begging to be turned into mittens.

Yummy Handspun

Yummy Handspun

4 thoughts on “Slow and Steady

  1. Crooked Tracks says:

    Wow, the color is gorgeous. I can understand how hard it is to see any progress when you have more than 400 stitches per row.

Leave a Reply

