Bring It On!

I might have gone a bit overboard with the mittens…

Thrummed Mittens

Thrummed Mittens

I started out making the pattern exactly as written by the Yarn Harlot, but they turned out way too big for me. I decided I’d give that pair to my dad and try again for my own pair. I made the pattern itself a bit smaller and staggered the thrums.

Look at that size difference!

Look at that size difference!

I love these mittens. The pattern was really easy and fast to knit. It didn’t take nearly as much yarn as I thought. My dad’s pair is striped (the two yarns are so similar it’s hard to tell) but my pair is made with just one yarn. I think this let’s the character of the hand spun really shine through.

Thrumms

Thrums

And look at those thrums, my hands are going to be nice and toasty this winter. It’s not really cold enough to wear these yet (give it a couple weeks!) but I still wore them around the house for a bit – and my hands were actually starting to sweat within a few minutes. Polar vortex? Bring it on!

8 thoughts on “Bring It On!

  1. Crooked Tracks says:

    I love your mittens! I think its a lot of fun to make mittens. I made a new pair for myself a few weeks ago. Yes, we’re ready for the cold weather 🙂

  2. Oh my… I was not expecting updates in a day! (or was it two days?)
    They look great! I really like the way you staggered the thrums on your pair, to me it makes the little heart shape of the thrums stand out more, and it looks less grid-like!
    Glad to hear they made your hands sweat!
    I will definitely have to knit a pair (or two…) !

Leave a Reply

