Blurry Goats

One of the things I look forward to every fall is The Royal Agricultural Winter Fair – it’s a great chance to see a variety of farm animals, purchase locally made goods, and eat carnival food. I was able to go this past weekend and I found it… lacking.

I don’t know if it’s just me getting ‘faired out’ or if it really is the case, but a lot of the shows I used to really enjoy seem to be shrinking. No longer are there tonnes of tiny booths by small businesses showcasing a variety of goods, now there are a few really large booths (just to give you an idea, in the ‘agricultural’ section, where they usually have information from different growers’ associations they had a booth talking about potatoes – brought to you by McDonalds!). The displays were’t as elaborate as in the past. Even the aisles seemed smaller – there were a few spots in the animal section where a single stroller blocked the whole path (and not one of those huge fancy or double-wide ones either!). And don’t even get me started on how crowded it was! I totally understand that a lot of people want to experience a show like this, and it’s understandable that there would be a lot of people there, but I felt like the layout wasn’t very efficient and made it seem much worse.

Blurry Goats

Blurry Goats

Just so I don’t seem like a total downer, let me point out a few positives:

  1. Nigerian Dwarf Goats – there was a baby one there that was smaller than my cats, I almost died from cute.
  2. A lot of places were selling thrummed mittens, so I felt quite proud that I had just made my own.

I think I’m going to take a break from The Royal for a year or two and see if coming back with fresh eyes helps. In the meantime, here’s a blurry picture of a goat (alas, not a dwarf) – kind of sums up my feelings towards the overall experience.

P.S. If you’re interested, the Yarn Harlot has a really great post of what The Royal used to be like, written back in 2007. 

Leave a Reply

