My Favourite Brownies

We’ve all heard that necessity is the mother of invention. Well, one day I needed brownies (don’t laugh, you know exactly what I mean). My favourite brownie recipe calls for vegetable oil, but I usually use melted butter. Except I didn’t have enough butter in the house. I was so desperate I decided to use what I had on hand – olive oil.

Brownies

Brownies

Oh. My. Goodness. The most delicious, dark, moist, intense brownies I’ve ever had.

I love these brownies, they’re super chocolatey and not too sweet. Plus they have that perfect crust on top. I started out with a simple recipe in one of those ‘basic cooking for teens’ type books, tweaking it here and there over the years. This is the result:

  • 1 cup cocoa powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 2/3 cup olive oil
  • 1/2 cup boiling water
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 2/3 cups flour
  • 1 tsp vanilla

Start by preheating the oven to 350º F and greasing a pan (about 9×13).

Mix together 1/3 cup of the oil, the cocoa powder, and the baking soda.

Add the boiling water and stir until thick.

Now stir in the rest of the oil, the sugar, the eggs, and the vanilla.

Finally, add the flour and mix until smooth. Pour into the prepared pan and bake for about 30-35 minutes. Enjoy!

 

2 thoughts on “My Favourite Brownies

Leave a Reply

