Playing with Plying

Plying Sid

Plying Sid

Once you actually spin the singles it does’t take that much time to ply them together. There’s only one problem I have with plying…

I can never seem to get an even amount of yarn on each bobbin, so one always runs out way before the other.

Uneven bobbins

Uneven bobbins

There are two reasons for this:

  1. When splitting the roving before spinning I probably split it unevenly – I might have to start weighing it.
  2. I try to do too much at once. I always try and spin the entire thing in one day, and that means by the end of the day my hands are cramping up. I need to take my time and pace myself.

There are a few ways to deal with uneven bobbins, but I decided to try winding the singles into a centre-pull ball and then spinning from both ends. It got a little tangled in the process, so next time I think I’ll try splitting the extra yarn between two bobbins.

Center-pull ball

Center-pull ball

Once I was done plying I gave it a good soak in some hot water and wool-wash, then let it hang to dry. I ended up with about 240 yards of yarn, enough for a good sized cowl for my brother.

The finished yarn

The finished yarn

7 thoughts on “Playing with Plying

Leave a Reply

