Just What I Needed….

I knit. I sew. I spin. I crochet. I garden, bake, and can. But all that wasn’t enough…

I’ve been seeing all sorts of amazing and geeky cross stitch on Pinterest and Instagram and have been just dying to give it a try. One designer in particular that caught my attention was wee little stitches – she’s got Pixel People patterns based on some of my favourite shows. Well, wouldn’t you know it, she was having a Black Friday/Small Business Saturday/Cyber Monday sale so I decided to take the plunge and finally give cross stitch a try. I picked up some how-to books at work (can I just take a moment to say how amazing it is to work in a library, and what wonderful things libraries are in general; all that information right there for the taking!) and got a few basic supplies on my way home.

Which brings us to this…

My first cross-stitch

My first cross-stitch 

I decided to start of with the Horn Rimmed Glasses pattern since I thought it would be a good first project, being only one colour and all (plus, as a librarian and nerd, I can never have too many glasses motifs around). I’m not that far into it yet, but there’s a nice rhythm to the process. The only issue is that I really need good lighting and concentration – this isn’t a TV time craft!

9 thoughts on “Just What I Needed….

  1. LOLOL! Sounds like me. I have a Christmas project that wouldn’t get done before the holidays are over but you betcha I’ll be getting some cross stitch done in 2015. I have enough projects stashed already. 😀

  2. I’ve been increasingly drawn to these cute little cross-stitch patterns. I used to cross-stitch when I was younger, but haven’t for ages. The only thing holding me back is what to do with them when they are finished…?

    • I know what you mean. I like how the framed ones look, but how many of those can you really have on your walls? I’ve seen the smaller ones worked into sewing projects as well. I think at this point I’m just going to enjoy the process and figure out a purpose later.

Leave a Reply

