Stitching in the Stacks

It’s done!

THe finished Library Stacks quilt

The finished Library Stacks quilt

As I mentioned, this Library Stacks quilt is the largest one I’ve made to date. So large that I couldn’t work on it at my regular sewing desk. No, this puppy needed the kitchen table. Because of this fact I had to put it away for a while until I had a few solid days to work on it (I didn’t want to be hauling everything back and forth for just a few hours of sewing every now and then). This past weekend was the perfect opportunity.

In the past I’ve always just used the polyester batting from Michaels, but this time I decided to order a cotton/poly blend batting from Connecting Threads. My piecing wasn’t 100% accurate on the quilt top so I didn’t preshrink the batting – I’m hoping the resulting crinkling will help disguise my slightly off stitching.

Cotton Blend Batting

Cotton Blend Batting

Prepping the quilt sandwich is always a bit of an ordeal, I don’t really have that much clear floorspace. I always make the quilt back and bating a few inches larger all around and then trim it down once the quilting is done.

The Quilt Sandwich

The Quilt Sandwich

Next I have to set myself up at the kitchen table. This is the most difficult part because I don’t have the proper ergonomic set up for quilting anything this large – why would I, when I only quilt blankets every other year or so? I can only work on this for a short stretch of time before needing to take a break, which means the whole process takes a lot longer than it needs to.

Quilting set up

Quilting set up

When I’m quilting I usually stitch loops, but as luck would have it the night before I meant to start this I was browsing on Pinterest and saw some wavy-lined quilts. I really liked the look, it reminded me of the way pages of well-loved books  start to expand. The fact that stitching wavy lines is much faster than my usual loops didn’t hurt either.

Before washing

Before washing

Because the batting is predominantly cotton it shrinks a little in the wash, giving the whole thing a nice worn in look.

After washing

After washing

And of course, the back of the quilt highlights my favourite fabric.

The back of the quilt

The back of the quilt

 

 

8 thoughts on “Stitching in the Stacks

Leave a Reply

