The Beginnings of the Sid Cowl

Now that I’ve wrapped up my WIP list I can start 2015 with new projects. My last few projects were quite large so I decided my first new one should be small and quick. My latest hand spun was calling my name, so I figured that cowl was in order. I headed over to Ravelry to browse patterns but nothing really caught my eye. Everything I liked seem to either call for more yarn than I had, or to involve complicated stitch patterns that would compete with the variegated yarn. I finally settled on a pattern. I didn’t love it, but it would have to do.

Well, I’m certainly glad I didn’t cast on right away…

… because Josiah Bain over at The Sock Monkey just published the Juliet Poe Cowl pattern and it is just what I was looking for. The only thing is that it’s written for sport weight yarn and mine, while probably sport weight in some sections (it’s pretty thick-and-thin, some of that is bound to be sport, right?), averages out to about worsted. I decided to use larger needles and cast on fewer stitches.

The beginnings of the Sid cowl

The Beginnings of the Sid Cowl

I am loving this – there’s enough texture to keep it interesting, but not so much that it competes with the colour of the yarn. I also like that it’s knit lengthwise rather than widthwise; I was going to make this roughly the size written in the pattern but I think I’ll just keep knitting until I’ve used up the yarn instead.

The beginnings of the cowl

The beginnings of the cowl

 

 

7 thoughts on “The Beginnings of the Sid Cowl

  1. The colours of the yarn are beautiful!! (did you dye it yourself?)
    You should post some pictures of it being worn when you’re done!
    That’s my #1 pet peeve with looking for cowl patterns on ravelry, not enough finished projects show them styled!

Leave a Reply

