Spring Morning

In order to start making a dent in the stash I figured that my next project should be a sweater. I thought about this carefully and realized that if I start now I will probably (hopefully!) be finished by late winter or early spring. With that in mind I knew I would want something fresh rather than something that screams middle-of-winter-coziness. Which leads me to this…

The supplies for my Spring Morning

The supplies for my Spring Morning

I’ve been planning to knit Julie Crawford’s Velvet Morning from Knitty for ages – I’ve even had the yarn in my stash for a couple of years. I’m using Wool of the Andes yarn from Knit Picks and even the colour names are spring like; Blossom Heather, Mist, and Cloud – it makes me think of damp spring mornings when early bulbs are just starting to poke out of the ground (plus there’s Aurora Heather, which isn’t exactly springy, but it is still natural, so I’ll take it).

This is one of those addictive knits where you keep wanting to knit just one more row, until next thing you know you’re half-way through the chart…

The start of my Spring Morning

The start of my Spring Morning

I like it for the most part, but I’m not 100% in love with the part of the chart I’m currently working on – I think the grey flecks are blending into the green too much (you can barely see them in the picture, they’re right under the pink bits at the top) so I might switch the white and the grey around for this section. I’m going to set this aside for a bit and think on it before deciding though.

13 thoughts on “Spring Morning

    • Thanks! I love the heathered colours, they have such an amazing depth to them.
      This is such an addictive knit that it goes by really fast, although that’s a couple of days of knitting all day everyday right there 🙂

Leave a Reply

