Mistress Mary Quite Contrary

And the secret garden bloomed and bloomed and every morning revealed new miracles.

-The Secret Garden

I’ve finished February’s frame in my Story Time Sampler and I made some pretty big changes to Mary Lennox of The Secret Garden. When this month’s pattern was released the first thing I noticed was Mary’s white dress with pale blue sash – very pretty and delicate looking, but not what I had in mind. I grew up reading a copy with wonderful Tasha Tudor illustrations and so I had a very specific idea of what Mary should look like…

So you see, I had no choice but to give Mary a little sailor dress.

February's Frame - The Secret Garden

February’s Frame – The Secret Garden

I also changed the door. The original pattern had a pale purple door, but that didn’t seem right to me. In the story Mary walks up and down the path looking for the door to the garden but it’s hidden under trailing ivy, somehow I think a wooden door would blend into the vines better than a pastel one. I added hinges to the door and contemplated adding some backstitching to hint at wood paneling, but decided against the latter. The overall pattern seems like it’s going to be very cute and cartoonish and I thought the panelling might be too detailed. I can always go back and add it later (but I doubt I will).

I’ve got almost two weeks before March’s section is released, so I think I’ll use this time to get ahead on the frames.

4 thoughts on “Mistress Mary Quite Contrary

  1. This is lovely! Your alterations look wonderful. I did like the pastel door but I agree that the dress wasn’t right. I’m not creative enough to come up with any alterations though so mine is still as the pattern dictated!

    • Thanks! The pastel door looks nice and goes wonderfully with the overall colour scheme, but it just didn’t fit with the Secret Garden I’ve been envisioning all these years. Isn’t it such a fun pattern to work on? I love seeing everybody’s interpretations of it 🙂

Leave a Reply

