Curiosity Cabinets

I’m sure it will come as no surprise that I have a fondness for books, especially old books. Vintage scientific illustrations are just so magical. I’ve been drooling over Hunter Hammerson’s The Knitter’s Curiosity Cabinet, Volumes I, II, and III, for ages – she takes illustrations and then designs knitting patterns around them. I finally took the plunge and treated myself to the entire collection.

The Knitter's Curiosity Cabinet

The Knitter’s Curiosity Cabinet

ย I wasn’t disappointed. This is an excerpt from Volume I which focuses on botanical illustrations. Here we have a gorgeous daffodil picture…

The Inspiration

The Inspiration

And the resulting socks…

The Interpretation

The Interpretation

Volume II features butterflies and Volume III covers marine illustrations. Now I just have to decide which to dive into first.

5 thoughts on “Curiosity Cabinets

  1. The patterns and illustrations look absolutely beautiful! I can’t wait to see your knits ๐Ÿ™‚ !
    I’ve never actually finished both socks of a pair myself…. I’ve knitted four individual socks but I’ve never knitted them mates!

    Have you ever looked at the Voynich manuscript? I downloaded a copy a few years ago and I spent so much time looking at all the beautiful illustrations and strange writings!

    • Aahhh, the dreaded second sock syndrome, I know just what you mean. Have you ever tried two-at-a-time socks? They’re a bit fiddly at first, but it’s worth it to finish both at once.

      And that Voynich manuscript is stunning – I just spent way too much time pouring over it!

Leave a Reply

