April Showers are Over

The Malabrigo Nube is done and I hated every minute of it. But the colours are nice, and I can see myself using the finished yarn (about 135 m of 3-ply, in case you were wondering), so wasn’t a total waste of time.

Well, at least it's pretty

Well, at least it’s pretty

The Navajo plying was an interesting technique that I can see myself using a lot in the future, especially when the singles aren’t a total mess to begin with. It was quite fiddly at first, but this tutorial from The Knit Girllls  finally helped it ‘click’ in my mind.

Now I just need to decide what to make...

Now I just need to decide what to make…

4 thoughts on “April Showers are Over

  1. I have some Malabrigo Nube and have gotten mixed reviews about it. What didn’t you like?

    The end result is lovely and I’m glad you have something you like to show from that un-enjoyable effort.

    • I’ve actually used Nube twice. The first time I used it I remember it being a bit tricky to work with, but once I got the hang of it it wasn’t too bad.

      This time it was AWFUL – it was really hard to draft, I was actually in pain after predrafting it. I honestly think it was felted in some spots.

      I’ve heard that this was a problem with the early batches and that it has improved, so I guess it depends on when you got yours. Although, now that I think about it, the one I bought first wasn’t as bad as this one, so maybe colour/dye lot plays into it as well? Hopefully yours is the good stuff!

Leave a Reply

