Confessions

One of my absolute all-time favourite knitting books is Elizabeth Zimmermann’s Knitter’s Almanac. I’ve had it for years and I can just pick it up, open it to a random page, and start reading. It’s kind of like a bowl of oatmeal – old-fashioned and plain but also very wholesome and comforting.

The thing is, I’ve never actually made anything from it (or any of EZ’s pattern’s for that matter). I still consider myself a beginner knitter; I like clear and straightforward instructions that tell me exactly what to do. EZ weaves her knitting instructions into stories about her day, and when she summarizes them at the end she assumes a lot of knowledge on the part of the knitter. They’re perfectly clear instructions, but she doesn’t hold your hand.

Tools of the Trade

KnitPicks and EZ, is there anything better?

I’m not so sure I’m ready to let go yet. The commemorative version of the book that I have also includes Pamela Wayne’s February Lady Sweater, which is an adaptation of EZ’s Baby Sweater on Two Needles. I figure this will be a good introduction to EZ’s style. I’m using some KnitPicks Chroma worsted that’s been in my stash for years, it’s one of those one-off colours they sold during a Cyber Monday sale a few years back (with the very creative colour name L-1).

This is a top down cardigan with absolutely no seaming and a simple four-row lace pattern. I’m looking forward to it!

7 thoughts on “Confessions

Leave a Reply

