A Dangerous Place

I’m one of the lucky ones. I know people who will drive for hours to get to this fabled place. But not me. I have not one, but two different Ikea locations within about 40 minutes of my home. I can go almost anytime I want and stroll through all those model rooms and drool over the pretty blue Raskog (they really aren’t that expensive, but I have no place to put it). But Ikea also has its dangers.

The problem is that everything is so cheap that it’s easy to pick up little things here and there – every time I leave that place I feel like this woman. Just this weekend I went to get some new sheets and underbed storage; I came out with quite a bit more. Of course there are the tealights and candles. Plus, did you know Ikea has a massive stationary section now? I was able to resist all the gift-wrap and post-its, but I caved on the notebook.  Then there’s the silicone cupcake liners. And I’ve been looking for a nice basket for my spinning for a while now, these ones were on clearance for $5. The pink accents are just a bonus. Actually, now that I look at it, there seems to be a lot of pink in this Ikea haul. But the best, and most useless, of all my purchases is that wonderful thing on the bottom right.

Ikea Haul

Ikea Haul

It’s a Spexa dollhouse and it’s ingenious. It’s basically pretty cardboard that unfolds into different rooms.

Kitchen full of healthy veggies

Kitchen full of healthy veggies

It seems to be sized for the typical Barbie, but I could be mistaken.

The living room, complete with knitting and cat

The living room, complete with knitting and cat

I was sorely tempted to get the matching furniture but I resisted, at least the dollhouse folds flat and can be slipped onto a shelf when the novelty wears off.

One thought on “A Dangerous Place

Leave a Reply

