This Changes Everything

I’ve read my second Evergreen book for the year and I want to give up my car and electricity and go live off the land. Well, not really, but Naomi Klein’s This Changes Everything: Capitalism vs. The Climate is a terrifying book.

The title kind of says it all, but what really got to me was the scale. Like most people, I was taught to turn off the lights, not to run the tap longer than needed, and so on. After reading this book I feel like I’m trying to save a sinking ship with an eyedropper. I just felt so helpless. Don’t get me wrong, I think it’s better to be informed than to live in blissful ignorance, but this book was just so overwhelming. Klein anticipates this and addresses it in the introduction when she says:

Fear makes us run, it makes us leap, it can make us act superhuman. But we need somewhere to run to. Without that, the fear is only paralyzing. So the real trick, the only hope, really, is to allow the terror of an unliveable future to be balanced and soothed by the prospect of building something much better than many of us have previously dared hope.

-Naomi Klein, This Changes Everything, pg. 28

Now that that’s done I’m going to get started on my third Evergreen book, but it’s a surprise, so you’ll just have to wait and see what it is.

 

2 thoughts on “This Changes Everything

Leave a Reply

