Leftovers

I’ve finished my February Lady sweater! It still needs a few ends woven in and a good blocking, so I’ll hold of on the pictures until then. I decided against the moose buttons and instead decided to use these vintage ones I picked up at Market Road Antiques (if you’re ever near St. Jacob’s Country I strongly suggest visiting this place – I could spend a whole day in there).

Vintage Buttons

Vintage Buttons

Now, about the yarn for this sweater. Well, I used Knit Picks Chroma Worsted in a one-off colour. It is a gorgeous yarn, no doubt about that. But if you want to blend the stripes seamlessly there’s going to be more than a little waste – especially if you’re knitting something larger like an adult garment.

Look at all these leftovers!

Look at all these leftovers!

I should have put something else in this picture for scale, but trust me when I say all those little balls of yarn add up to almost an entire ball of the Chroma. It is such a beautiful yarn though, and I can see myself perhaps incorporating it into other sweater projects as an accent, but I don’t think I’ll ever make another garment entirely out of it.

I do have some more in my stash that’s earmarked for accessories. I think it would help a lot if I unwound the balls it comes in and rewound them, just so I could see the stripe sequences and plan out how to use order them more efficiently. Does that make any sense? I’ll try and remember to explain again with pictures when I actually get around to knitting it.

Anyway, stay tuned for more pictures of the completed February Lady sweater.

2 thoughts on “Leftovers

Leave a Reply

