Yarn Chicken

Usually when I buy sock yarn it’s in skeins that are over 400 yards, which gives me enough yarn for a pair of socks and plenty leftovers. I didn’t notice that each skein of the Patons Kroy Socks was only about 160ish yards, or about 320 for the pair. Which led to the inevitable game of yarn chicken,Β the terrifying game a knitter plays when she is unsure whether there is enough yarn to finish a project yet, rather than unraveling and making the project smaller, she keeps on knitting and hoping for the best.

Starting the toe

Starting the toe

That might look like a good amount of yarn there, but I’ve discovered that the best fitting toe for me is a long, slowly tapered one. One that takes a lot of yarn.

Luckily I had justΒ enough. Seriously, there was only a yard or two left after I grafted the toe. However, this does give me more confidence on the second sock (which you can see I’ve already started) since I figure there will be roughly the same amount of yarn there as well. Let’s hope that’s actually the case!

Phew!

Phew!

9 thoughts on “Yarn Chicken

  1. I know! This yarn really needs better yardage. I made a pair of socks for my mother a while back with this yarn and even though she has really small feet, I only had a few yards left in each skein. :/

      • I know … It certainly is unusual. And I don’t think that it has a good price point, especially if you have larger feet and need three skeins to knit a pair of socks. πŸ™‚

      • That’s true, it seems reasonable at first but when you look at what you’re actually getting it’s not really worth it at all. Plus, the gradient effect makes it difficult to join another ball when needed.

Leave a Reply

