The Lady of Shalott

The July instalment of the Frosted Pumpkin Stitchery’s Story Time Sampler is The Lady of Shalott by Lord Tennyson. To be honest the only thing I knew about this was that Anne Shirley ran into some trouble when reenacting it. Since it’s a poem it was a fairly quick read, I especially liked this bit here:

No time hath she to sport and play:

A charmed web she weaves alway.

Seems like the Lady was a craftsperson.

The Lady of Shallot

The Lady of Shallot

Once again I lowered her mouth, but I also eliminated her smile. She’s floating to her death, a smile just didn’t seem right.

I thought the Peter Pan frame had a lot of green and brown, but that was nothing compared to this month!

That's a lot of brown

That’s a lot of brown

The colours are fairly bland for the most part – this picture has everything but her hair completed. Now, I must admit that the pattern had a pink castle at the top, but that just didn’t seem right to me. The poem specifically says, “Four gray walls, and four gray towers” so I really had no choice but to change the castle’s colours.

Pretty neutral colours so far

Pretty neutral colours so far

Her glorious red hair is what really brings it all to life. The designers said the frame was inspired by the John William Waterhouse painting, but all that red hair makes me think of Anne. Since it’s beginning to look like there won’t be an Anne of Green Gables frame I’m going to choose to think of this month as Anne playing make believe.

The end is in sight

The end is in sight

I still have a few days before the next frame is released so I’m going to try and use this time to catch up on the frames.

3 thoughts on “The Lady of Shalott

Leave a Reply

