I’ll Just Make My Own

You’d think I had more than enough project bags by now. Apparently you’d be thinking wrong. A few weeks ago I was browsing around on Instagram when I came across the most awesome Golden Girls project bag. I was in love! I went through the tags and eventually found the seller on Etsy … and my heart sank. It was just way too expensive for me. Actually, it wasn’t really that expensive originally, but with the exchange rate and shipping to Canada it would have ended up at more than $50.

So I did some more searching and found the source of the fabric. Spoonflower is this great website where people can design and sell their own fabric, wallpaper, and gift-wrap. It’s the go-to place to look for fabric inspired by fandoms, and that’s where I found the Golden Girls fabric alysnpunderland designed. I was able to get two fat quarters of fabric (I only needed one FQ for this bag; I also got some sweet SuperWhoLock fabric, but that’s another project for another day) for less than $30, including shipping.

Thank you for being a friend fabric

Thank you for being a friend fabric

I went to my stash for the extra materials and set to work on my very own project bag.

To be totally honest, I like my version better than the original one I saw on Etsy. The corners are crisper, the handle is wider, I switched the fabric’s orientation, and I think my lining better matches the Golden Girls fabric. Plus it was a fraction of the cost of the Etsy bag and I got an afternoon’s enjoyment from the process.

My very own Golden Girls project bag

My very own Golden Girls project bag

I used the same Truly Myrtle box bag tutorial I’ve used a few times in the past. It’s a great pattern with lots of detailed step-by-step pictures.

Parts of the stitching can be quite fiddly

Parts of the stitching can be quite fiddly

The best part of this pattern is how neatly it encloses everything – not a seam in sight.

Of course the lining is golden!

Of course the lining is golden!

I even have the perfect yarn in mind to break in my new project bag. This hank of Knit Picks Stroll Tonal (in Queen Anne, I think the colour might have been discontinued) reminds me of the peachy tones of the Golden Girls living room set.

The perfect yarn to break in my new bag

The perfect yarn to break in my new bag

 

 

6 thoughts on “I’ll Just Make My Own

  1. I love this! And I love that I’m not the only one who has the “I’ll make my own” mentality. I think it is becoming more and more rare. I have a friend who just orders without thinking exchange and shipping and is often very disappointed with the total cost, ( but still she orders,lol).

    • Isn’t it nice to be able to make our own? It saves so much money! And the exchange rates and shipping can really add up. The original bag was only about $25 USD, which is pretty reasonable, but I’m glad I calculated my total costs before buying – it would have been quite the shock otherwise!

Leave a Reply

