Not the Brightest (Pencil) Crayon in the Box

Like so many around me I have fallen under the spell of adult colouring books, specifically Johanna Basford’s Enchanted Forest. The ancient pencil crayons I’ve had kicking around since high school were looking a little sad so I treated myself to a new box of Crayolas. Now all I needed was a cute pencil case to store all those pretty colours.

Yep, I'm actually five

Yep, I’m actually five

I went to my stash and pulled out some fabric I bought last summer and set to work on the Open Wide Zippered Pouch from Noodlehead’s blog.

Treasures from my trusty stash

Treasures from my trusty stash

You might remember that I’ve made this bag not just once, but twice before, so I figured I’d just dive right in. Big mistake. Even though all the finished measurements are right there on the Noodlehead blog I paid them no attention and cut out for the smallest size, forgetting that a significant amount of length would be lost when I boxed the corners. As you can see here, there was no way that my pretty new Crayolas were going to fit. Had I actually heeded the measurements I would have realized that I needed to make the largest size. It wasn’t one of my brightest moments.

I think there might be a problem here...

I think there might be a problem here…

I was tempted to just carry on, but I knew that I wouldn’t use such a tiny bag (it would have been about 5 inches long). I didn’t have enough fabric for a total redo but I was set on those cute bunnies and birds. What to do? I decided to cut out the bottom, use a contrasting fabric, and just make the boxed corners smaller – less boxy? basically I cut out less fabric from the corners. As you can see here, the pencil crayons will now fit. It’s going to be tight, but once they’ve been sharpened once or twice it should be a perfect fit.

Looking better...

Looking better…

The finished bag still had lots of cute animals on it…

The finished bag!

The finished bag!

…and all of my Crayolas fit inside.

Everything fits...just barely

Everything fits…just barely

One thought on “Not the Brightest (Pencil) Crayon in the Box

Leave a Reply

