The Phantom of the Opera

I’ve finished the August frame on my Story Time Sampler, The Phantom of the Opera. I have to be honest, while I know that this is based on an actual novel I’ll always think of it as a musical.

Phantom of the Opera

Phantom of the Opera

I din’t make any major changes this month, just lowering their mouths like I did on all the rest. This is the first frame with two characters (well, there was a mermaid in Peter Pan’s frame, but she was off in the distance), but it doesn’t feel too crowded.

I absolutely love the rose at the top of the frame, it’s quite realistic compared to everything else.

Lots of red this month

Lots of red this month

The colours this month are really rich, it’s quite a change from the rest of the sampler. Here it is with most of the neutral and warm colours. As you can see, that’s most of the design!

Almost there!

Almost there!

Despite the opulence of this month’s frame I still like the way it works with the rest of the sampler, everything somehow balances out. I must say, those Frosted Pumpkins really are talented designers!

My work so far

My work so far

And I still have a bit of August left to work on that banner at the top.

Leave a Reply

