Black Beauty

If we could act a little more according to common sense, and a good deal less according to fashion, we should find many things work easier.

Anna Sewell, Black Beauty

This month’s Story Time Sampler frame was based on Black Beauty by Anna Sewell, yet another book I’ve never actually read; I never did go through that horse obsessed phase that so many young girls seem to and so never felt inclined to read this. Anyway, I listened to the audiobook while working on this and, while it’s decent, I don’t think it will become a favourite. I can see how this would have been a very important novel for children in a time when horses were a primary mode of transportation, but a lot of it feels kind of irrelevant today (or at least to suburban kids like me who rarely, if ever, encounter horses).

Black Beauty (and mystery rider)

Black Beauty (and mystery rider)

I didn’t make any changes this month except to lower his mouth. I just want to take this moment and say I have no idea who the rider is supposed to be. While there were plenty of human characters throughout the story I can’t think of any one that was important enough to be featured here. Maybe he’s supposed to represent all of them? Who knows…

Anyhow, back to the sampler!

No surprise that there's a lot of black this month

No surprise that there’s a lot of black this month

I really like the colour scheme this month, it makes me think of a crisp fall afternoon.

Almost done!

Almost done!

And there’s still almost two weeks to work on the banner before October’s frame is released. The end is in sight!

Leave a Reply

