Between Gods

Alison Pick’s Memoir, Between Gods, was my most recent Evergreen read. Pick was raised Christian but found out her family’s roots are actually Jewish, this book chronicles the years she spent preparing to convert to Judaism. I have to admit it took me a while to get into this book at first; Pick also deals with depression and at the start of the book she was in a really dark place. Reading about it was hard enough, I can’t even begin to imagine how awful it must be to live with.

Once I got into it this book was totally engrossing. It was the kind of book where I finished it and just had to sit there in silence for a while digesting everything. The only word I can use to describe it is raw. I’ve read memoirs before but this one just felt so much more intimate and personal. I don’t know if it’s because she was in familiar neighbourhoods (this book is set in Toronto and various suburbs around it) or because it is still relatively recent (I tend to read more historic biographies and memoirs, this one is set about 5-7ish years ago) but reading Between Gods almost felt like reading the diary of someone I might actually know. All I can say is that Pick is an incredibly brave woman to put it all out there like that.

 

Leave a Reply

