Time for a New Bag

This is the first full week of autumn, and what better way to celebrate than with a new bag? (Okay, I can think of plenty of better ways, but it’s autumn and I have a new bag, so let’s just go with it). Last year I picked up a copy of The Best of Threads Handbags; it’s full of great patterns but I specifically wanted the 6-Pocket Clutch designed by Gilbert Muniz.

Some people shop for a new bag...

Some people shop for a new bag…

Lucky for me I had some perfect scraps in my stash. The houndstooth is from last year’s cape, the floral is from my latest Sorbetto, and the textured brown is from my Bookish Quilt.

I cut out all the pattern pieces and used interfacing on everything for some added structure (the pattern called for heavier fabric such as home dec or denim, most of what I was using was quilting cotton or very drapey fashion fabric). Also, the pattern called for canvas lining between the pockets but I used cotton batting  (I’ve had issues in the past from keeping a keycard too close to my cellphone, I thought the extra barrier could only help).

All the pieces cut out and ready to go

All the pieces cut out and ready to go

What I love about making things myself is the ability to adapt them to fit my needs, such as making the pockets to fit my essentials.

Deciding on pockets

Deciding on pockets

I was actually quite surprised at how quickly the front and back came together.

Front and back

Front and back

Instead of sewing the outer shell and the lining separately and then hand-stitching them together I used the same assembly method as my pencil case –  it just seemed much easier to me, and I try to do my best to avoid hand-stitching.

Almost there!

Almost there!

I’m quite pleased with the finished bag, the fabrics work really well together…

Done!

Done!

and it has space for all my essentials inside.

Check out the pockets!

Check out the pockets!

This was my first time making a ‘real’ bag and not just a project bag. While I didn’t exactly cut corners per se, and I am happy with the finished bag, I can really see how I need to work on my finishing skills. Paying attention to tension, working slowly to ensure straight seams, pressing the fabric every step of the way, I’m really starting to appreciate how taking the time for these things will lead to more professional looking results. I think I need to step back from the projects for a while and focus on the skills.

4 thoughts on “Time for a New Bag

  1. I love this! What a great make and really practical! I don’t really make bags either as I find it hard to get them to look professional but yours has inspired me to try!

    • That was always my reason for avoiding everyday bags (as opposed to project bags). I’m not 100% happy with my finishing, but it’s a start, and I can only improve with practice 🙂

Leave a Reply

