I’m So Glad I Live In A World Where There Are Octobers

Tomorrow is a new day with no mistakes in it.

L.M.Montgomery, Anne of Green Gables

I’ve been waiting for this all year – the theme for this month’s Story Time Sampler is Anne of Green Gables. This is the first frame since Sherlock Holmes (all the way back in March!) where I’ve actually been excited about the character. I also made quite a few changes this month; it seems like the more I care about the book the more I care about it being accurate.

A perfect autumn day

A perfect autumn day

Of course I lowered her mouth, but I also exchanged the pink hair ribbons for green ones – Anne always mourned the fact that her red hair precluded her from wearing pink. I also replaced the spring flowers with chrysanthemums, in part as a nod to Anne beating Gilbert in the spelling bee, but also for seasonal accuracy (more on that later).

Of course I had to plan a marathon of the Anne of Green Gables miniseries while working on this. I’m not going to lie, these movies always make me cry. I had to put down my sampler and reach for the tissue box more than once.

Settling in for the long haul

Settling in for the long haul

For some reason I didn’t really approach this month’s frame in any sort of methodical manner, and I actually ripped out more in this frame than any of the others. Right after taking this picture I noticed that there was a mistake in the white section and I had to undo half the house.

Kind of random

Kind of random

Let me tell you, I was glad to finally see those famous Green Gables…

There are the Green Gables!

There are the Green Gables!

Only to have to rip out the front door soon after, plus the flower stalks. The whole time I was working on this the flowers at the bottom really bothered me (please excuse me while I totally nerd out for a moment) because, based on the shape and colour in the pattern, I’m assuming they’re PEI’s famous lupins. A decidedly spring flower that Does. Not. Fit. the autumn leaves all over the rest of the frame.

Decision time!

Decision time!

Chrysanthemums are a fall flower that I thought better suited the October feel of the rest of the frame. I also changed the front door so that it would match the Green Gables, because that’s how it’s portrayed in most illustrations.

It’s no secret that Anne of Green Gables is by far my absolute favourite book, the one that has had the most influence on my life. So I’ve decided that October is going to be a month of Anne; stay tuned for lots more Green Gables goodies.

9 thoughts on “I’m So Glad I Live In A World Where There Are Octobers

      • Xstitchbee says:

        I’ve signed up to the newsletter & I’m taking part in a SAL from January so that’s something to look forward to xx

Leave a Reply

