Books Are Always Good Company

Take some books and read; that’s an immense help; and books are always good company if you have the right sort.

Louisa May Alcott, Little Women

This month’s Story Time Sampler frame featured Josephine March from Little Women. It probably comes as no surprise that this librarian has always felt an affinity for the bookish Jo.

Hello Jo!

Hello Jo!

Other than lowering her mouth and switching around some colours here and there I didn’t make many changes to this month’s frame.

It depicts Jo writing on a clear, bright winter day so obviously there was a lot of white to start with.

That's a lot of white...

That’s a lot of white…

From there I moved on to the browns and greys. I specifically chose to change the colour of her quill, it was supposed to be beige and black but I didn’t like it like that – I found the black blob that was the end of the feather particularly distracting floating there amongst all the pastels (full confession, it took me days of staring at that black blob before I figured out what it was supposed to be). Switching to the shades of grey was a subtle change but I feel like it made all the difference.

All the neutrals

All the neutrals

I’ve noticed that, as predicted, this is taking me a lot longer to work on now that the light is getting dimmer. I really wanted to finish this on Saturday afternoon but by 4:30 it was already too dark. Which was especially frustrating because I only had a little bit left to do! I think I’m going to need to invest in one of those bright craft lamps if I plan on continuing with this hobby.

So close!

So close!

I did rearrange the colours of the books on the bookshelf, but that was more for convenience/ease of stitching rather than any issues I had with the original layout.

Only one left!

Only one left!

I can’t believe there’s only one frame left to go!

2 thoughts on “Books Are Always Good Company

Leave a Reply

