Stripes! Pompoms!

I’ve been busy knitting up more Barley hats for 1000 Stitches for Syria. I’ve made over a dozen already so I’m just going to show you some of my favourites.

I’m especially proud of these two made by striping partial skeins of Wool of the Andes from Knit Picks, and I even had enough left over to add pompoms.

Stripes and pompoms!

Stripes and pompoms!

These are made from the same yarn but I left out the garter section. I also lengthened the ribbing so that it could fold over.

More stripes

More stripes

Can you tell I’m really liking the pompoms on top? They’re so cheerful, plus they’re a great way to use up yarn when there isn’t enough left for another hat.

Barley Hat

Barley Hat

I started off making the pompoms by wrapping the yarn around a deck of cards, tying some yarn around the middle, and then trimming it down to size – it worked, but it wasn’t very efficient. So I bought this handy contraption from the LYS near work and I can’t wait to try them out!

Knitter's Pride Rejoice Pompom maker

Let’s see how this works…







5 thoughts on “Stripes! Pompoms!

  1. Love the stripes and the pompoms. But best of all I love the cause. I should see if we have a local organization that would take some hats.

Leave a Reply

