In Which Procrastination Saves the Day

Life is much more successfully looked at from a single window.

F. Scott Fitzgerald, The Great Gatsby

I made it just in time – my Story Time Sampler is done! I was a bit late getting to this month’s frame, partly because I’ve been busy with work, partly because there’s been almost no daylight, and partly because I just wasn’t feeling this month’s frame. The official last frame was supposed to be A Christmas Carol and I just didn’t like it for some reason.

Well, it’s a good thing I delayed getting started because about halfway through the month the lovely Frosted Pumpkins released a surprise bonus frame featuring The Great Gatsby.

Bittersweet

The final scene

No major changes except for lowering his mouth and changing his smile to more of a smirk.

It’s been so grey and gloomy these days that it’s hard to get decent pictures, but grey skies aside you can still see how dull this frame is to start with.

Kind of dull so far...

Kind of dull so far…

Here it is all finished except for the greens and Jay’s hair, and it’s still pretty neutral. It makes sense though, it makes the green light stand out all that much more.

Jay's taking shape

Jay is starting to take shape

Here’s the whole thing all complete (by the way, it’s not actually dirty in the bottom right corner, I just blurred out where I signed).

I can't believe it's done...

I can’t believe it’s done…

Now I just have to pick out the perfect frame.

8 thoughts on “In Which Procrastination Saves the Day

    • Thanks! I have to admit I’m not a big fan of Christmas imagery – I like it just fine in November/December, but I don’t want it around in May. Since I spent so long on this and intend to hang it year round I was quite pleased when they released the bonus theme that wasn’t so holiday-specific.

Leave a Reply

