Dogwood Blossoms

I love books and I love knitting so it should come as no surprise that I love books about knitting. Of course there are the instructional and pattern books but I also enjoy history and personal essays. When I stumbled across Adrienne Martini’s Sweater Quest at work a few months back I had to grab it (I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again: Libraries are AWESOME! Everything you want right there for the taking! Go to your local library! Okay, getting off the soapbox now…). In this book Martini chronicles her year long quest to knit a famed Alice Starmore Mary Tudor sweater – a gorgeously intricate Fair isle sweater that some would call the knitter’s Mount Everest – and it got me thinking.

Now that my year-long cross stitch project has wrapped up I need a new challenge. I need a big project that will challenge me. I thought about trying a Starmore kit, they certainly are stunning, and I might try one some day, but they don’t have a special place in my heart. There is one project though, one that I’ve been daydreaming about for years…

I saw this pattern in the Knit Picks catalogue years ago when I was a new knitter and it was love at first sight. I didn’t even dare to think about tackling it at the time. For years I would look at this gorgeous sweater on their website but never thought I was ready, year after year I would put it off. Not this year though. This is the year I’m finally going to tackle the Dogwood Blossoms sweater.

Ambitious to say the least...

Ambitious to say the least…

 

8 thoughts on “Dogwood Blossoms

Leave a Reply

