Canada Reads 2016

For the past few summers I’ve been challenging myself to read all 10 Evergreen Nominees. Now I’m going to try my hand at the CBC Canada Reads titles. The theme this year is ‘starting over’ and the five finalists are:

  1. Minister Without Portfolio by Michael Winter
  2. The Illegal by Lawrence Hill
  3. Birdie by Tracey Lindberg
  4.  The Hero’s Walk by Anita Rau Badami
  5. Bone and Bread by Saleema Nawaz

Each novel will be defended by a notable Canadian in a weeklong debate at the end of March. Everyday one book will be eliminated until only one remains, a book that every Canadian should read. It’s a really exciting program (well, it’s exciting for librarians and other book nerds) that’s broadcast on CBC Radio. I’m going to try and read all of them before the debates take place, so I have until March 21 to finish all five books. Wish me luck!

5 thoughts on “Canada Reads 2016

Leave a Reply

