Meet Me At Luke’s – Pilot Episode

You might remember that one of my favourite comfort shows is Gilmore Girls – I can watch it over and over again and, just like a bowl of soup, it always makes me feel nice and cozy. A big part of that is all the minor characters that inhabit Stars Hollow. It’s just such a whimsical place full of unique people who really seem to care about each other. A lot of the characters seem to own their own businesses yet everyone always has the time to chat over a cup of coffee or take part in one of the town’s seemingly endless events. Everyone has a gorgeous shabby chic home full of amazing tchotchkes and a vast knowledge of pop culture and literature and history and politics and, well, basically everything.

I doubt anywhere like Stars Hollow actually exists but I still wanted to try and bring a little piece of that magic into my real world. I had a look at various Gilmore Girls inspired craft patterns, especially for cross stitch, but none of them really caught my eye. So I just had to make my own! To me Luke’s is the heart of the town, the place where everyone congregates for life’s big and small moments, so of course that’s what I designed around.

DSC_0066

Just have to pick the perfect colour…

I went to Michael’s and picked up a few different yellow and brown shades to see what will work best. I’m also trying out stitched grids for the first time, so we’ll see how that goes. I think this will be fairly simple pattern since it’s just the two colours; maybe I’ll start with the outlines so that it will just be a matter of filling in the blanks after that. This is my first time attempting to design anything so I hope it looks okay once it’s actually stitched up. Being the tv nerd that I am, maybe I’ll eventually make one to represent all of my favourite shows!

8 thoughts on “Meet Me At Luke’s – Pilot Episode

  1. I definitely know what you mean about wanting to have a little bit of a place, even if it isn’t real. Can’t wait to see how it turns out!

  2. I adore the whimsical nature of Stars Hollow. So awesome how you can take a short stroll, and have seen the whole town, and all the different shops. Awesome idea to cross stitch! Post a pic when you’re done 🙂

    • I’m always amazed at what a variety of thriving shops there are in Stars Hollow – it seems like no matter what you want there’s a whimsical mom&pop shop to cater to every need!

Leave a Reply

