Rice Pudding

I’ve been feeling sick for the past few days and craving comfort foods, especially pudding. Rice pudding is one of those desserts that feels wholesome and is dead easy to make (plus it’s easy on a sore throat).

DSC_0003

The perfect combo for when I’m under the weather

I’m off to eat my pudding and reread a childhood favourite.

Read on for the recipe!

This is my go-to recipe. It’s really easy and it lends itself well to adaptation.

  • 2/3 cup of rice (I usually just useΒ whatever kind I have lying around)
  • 3 cups of milk (sometimes I mix cream and regular milk – just so long as it adds up to 3 cups of liquid)
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
  • pinch of black pepper (yes, really! I find that a tiny bit of black pepper adds a wonderful robustness to anything with a cinnamon/nutmeg flavour profile)
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla

Use the butter to grease a casserole dish. Add everything except the vanilla, stir, and bake at 250ΒΊ for about 2 1/2 hours, stirring every half an hour or so. When it’s done stir in the vanilla.

You can eat this warm or cold, whatever you prefer. It’s especially nice with a sprinkling of brown sugar and/or a splash of cream. If you’re feeling decadent it’s amazing with some Nutella stirred in.

2 thoughts on “Rice Pudding

Leave a Reply

