Robin Hood

Will you come with me, sweet Reader? I thank you. Give me your hand.

Howard Pyle, The Merry Adventures of Robin Hood

The May block for my Happily Ever After stitch-a-long was Robin Hood and I noticed something, I’ve never actually read it. I’m sure I watched the Disney version as a kid, and I know the basics of the storyline, butย when I actually try and think about Robin Hood the first thing that comes to mind is the Dr. Who episode from a few years back. Obviously I had to pick up an audiobook copyย of Howard Pyle’s version. My overall impression was that it was pleasant enough but kind of forgettable. To be fair that might have more to do with the narrator, maybe I’ll try reading again someday.

Frosted Pumpkin Stitchery Happily Ever After Stitch-a-Long Robin Hood

Anyhow, enough about that. On to the cross stitch!

Pyle makes a point of mentioning the Merry Men’s Lincoln green clothing repeated in the book so is there any wonder that green features heavily in this month’s block?

Frosted Pumpkin Stitcher Happily Ever After Stitch-a-Long

Lots and lots of Lincoln Green…

There was also a lot of brown. At this point it’s kind of reminding my of The Lady of Shallot block from my last sampler.

Frosted Pumpkin Stitchery Happily Ever After Stitch-a-long

Still looking a little bland…

And now that that’s done I still have a little bit of May left to work ahead on the borders. I’m a little disappointed in the stories featured so far – they make for cute images but none of them have been childhood favourites or anything that I have strong memories of. Oh well, there are still 7 blocks left so I’m bound to like at least a few…right?

Leave a Reply

