Five Roses

My latest Evergreen book is Five Roses by Alice Zorn. It tells the story of three women living in a rundown Montreal neighbourhood whose lives intersect in interesting ways.Five Roses by Alice Zorn

I didn’t love this book. I don’t even think I liked it. There were elements I really enjoyed – one of the main characters is a weaver and the descriptions of her loom and yarn were quite enjoyable, and a secondary character is a chef from Trinidad (where my family is from) and the descriptions of island food are mouthwatering.

But some of the characters find themselves in really awful and unhealthy situations and it just made me so uncomfortable. I could see how the they got there, they truly did not know any better (this is the type of book that really drives home the importance of properly educating your children, even when the topics might be something you’d rather avoid). There was one scene where a character does something absolutely morally reprehensible yet it’s almost glossed over. Also, everything just wrapped up so neatly. Overall, reading this book made me feel a bit dirty – I wouldn’t recommend it.

Leave a Reply

