Caribbean Sunset, Part 1

I hate to admit it, but it’s been ages since I last used my spinning wheel. In fact, the last time was back in the fall when I started spinning this Knit Picks roving I dyed myself.

The colours reminded me of those gorgeous Caribbean sunset pictures, but I thought that realistically they were a little too bold for me….

So I decided to spin up some white and ply the two together. I’m not quite sure what this roving is, when I bought my wheel it came with a beginners spinning kit which was basically a niddy noddy and a bag of roving. I don’t remember how much fibre there was in that bag but I used just over half of that roving for this project.

Kromski Fantasia spinning wheel

Those of you who also follow me on Instagram will know that I recently got a new kitten named Shadow Benny (who’s basically sleeping on the keyboard as I type this!). This was his first time seeing a spinning wheel so of course he had to inspect it!

Kitten and roving, spinning wheel

He thinks he’s helping :/

After an entire weekend of spinning I was left with two pretty much full bobbins of singles.

hand spun singles

Which I was soon able to ply into this beauty here…

2ply hand spun yarn

There’s still quite a bit left on the bobbins to ply together, but is it just me or does it look like there’s less of the white? I think I’m just going to play it safe and spin up some more white before I start plying the second bobbin.

hand spun singles

And if I have leftover singles I can just carry that over into my next spinning project, which I’m already super excited about. I tend to take way too long between spinning sessions and then overdo things and strain my hands, which means that I have to take a short break which inevitably stretches out for months. I’d like to change that, I’d like to spin more consistently but for shorter periods of time. We’ll see how that goes….

Leave a Reply

