Harvest Hat-a-Long, Part the Third

I’ve finished my second hat for the Harvest Hat Knit-a-Long hosted by the lovely ladies over at the Twisted Stitches Podcast.

Bon Bon Toque in Knit Picks Wool of the Andes

I couldn’t resist taking a picture with my latest edition of The Prisoner of Azkaban since the purple of the hat totally reminds me of the Knight Bus!

I used the Bon Bon Toque pattern from Tin Can Knits. I started knitting these on square DPNs. I’ve had them for a while but only used them once before and I didn’t exactly like the experience. However, that first time was a very slippery bamboo yarn so I thought it was worth trying them out again – after all, I was making this hat with Wool of the Andes which I already know I enjoy working with. Nope. My hands actually hurt after knitting with these needles, and I was only knitting for about an hour or so before the pain started. Not only that, the pain lasted more than an entire day after.

Bon Bon Toque in progress

Needless to say I quickly switched over to circular needles so that I could finish this hat with Magic Loop. Now, I knit the pattern as written; it’s supposed to have some normal cables at the top and bottom and then an elongated one in the middle, but it’s not really that noticeable. I guess my row gauge was off or something because I can hardly tell the difference between that row of cables and all the others.

Bon Bon Toque in Knit Picks Wool of the Andes

I debated lengthening that section a bit but that would result in a more slouchy hat. This hat is a gift for someone with a more conservative style and I didn’t think the slouchy look would work. I feel like this is one of those design features that only I would notice anyway so I’m just leaving it as is and calling it a day.

Leave a Reply

