Crafting · Sewing

Bento Bag, Take One

A few months ago I saw a Knitty product review for Bento Bags. I was immediately smitten but, like so many other project bags I’ve seen for sale, I realized it would be pretty easy to make one myself. I found this tutorial on Pretty Prudent Baby, grabbed some fabric from my stash, and gave it a try.

The closed bento bag
The closed bento bag

It was a very quick and easy project – it was less than two hours from start to finish. I’m not 100% happy with it, mainly due to the fact that this was a spur of the moment project so I didn’t pay as much attention to the details as I should have. But I can definitely see myself making this again.   In the future I would sew the corners on the base differently (I’d use corners similar to those on box bags) and use a thicker fabric, I think these tweaks would give me something closer to what I had in mind. Actually, now that I think about it, this might look really nice made out of tea towels.

The open bento bag
The open bento bag

By the way, do you like that yarn combination? I’ve been playing around with an idea for a crochet project, and those are the colours I decided on. But more on that in a few days…

Leave a comment